Little Habits to Improve Your Everyday

cropped-coffee-shop.jpg

If you’re anything like me, you’re always on the lookout for little hacks to improve your productivity, increase your energy, and of course provide an overall happiness boost! In the last year, I’ve become even more interested in learning about effective habits. We all struggle with feelings of laziness and inefficiency. The trick is in your reaction.

I notice such a difference between those days I set five unnecessary alarms and those I immediately open the curtains, unroll my yoga mat, and write in my gratitude journal app. The internal struggle! Especially on Mondays, friends. Recently, I’ve been particularly focused on implementing a morning routine on weekdays after reading the Miracle Morning as well as listening to the podcast Happier from the author of the Happiness Project and Better than Before.

The key to implementing good habits is to set the intention. I often found that between listening to countless podcasts, reading helpful books, and browsing blogs, my brain is overloaded with positive ideas to improve my days, only to be forgotten shortly after. So in writing down the habits I’m attempting to add, I’m hoping they’ll stick! Here are some of the things I’m trying to inject into my everyday:

  1. Wake up at 5:30 am.
  2. Use the first half hour of my day for my own benefit:
    1. write in my gratitude five minute journal app and to start the day in a positive frame of mind
    2. practice ten rounds of sun salutations to get that feel-good yoga vibe
    3. meditate for five minutes
  3. Prep the majority of my food for the week on Sundays, including three work lunches, one big batch meal for dinner, one snack, and big bag of chopped veggies. This will get me through to at least Wednesday.
  4. Eat vegan-ish in my own kitchen. I’m on month five of being a vegetarian, and have found it profoundly easier than I thought to make the shift. I’d never be a full-time vegan, due to my love affair with all things cheesy pizza, and also wanting to be flexible and happy eating at the houses of friends and family. I love Jillian Harris’ approach to this, of just doing the best you can when you can to make the world a slightly better place.
  5. Change negative thought patterns. I’ve improved so much at this, but I’d like to consistently make the effort to kick those ego-driven anxious thoughts in the butt before they turn into rumination. Yoga, walking outside, calling family, and my favourite stress-busting method of cooking are all ideal.

As I’m moving into my very own one-bedroom apartment this week in west Toronto (!!!), I am going to focus on these five habits. Gretchen Rubin talks about how a change of routine is the ideal time to trick yourself into forming good daily practices. Since purchasing the five minute journal gratitude app, I’ve already experienced such a difference in noticing positive aspects of my day, since I know I’ll need to write 3 happy things each morning and evening. I want to build on that momentum and keep at it with these new habits!

Thanks for stopping by,

Paige

 

Leave a Reply

